Public Health Accreditation

Public Health is what we do collectively to ensure that all people have the opportunity to reach their optimal health, regardless of where they live, work, grow, and play. Achieving this requires the interaction of multiple sectors and a joint recognition of their respective contribution to health. Public health departments are at the center of many of these relationships, acting as convener, strategist, and advocate, among other roles. This new model of public health is referred to as Public Health 3.0. 

The Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB) has set criteria and processes for department accreditation help foster Public Health 3.0 principles. 

PHAB-Accreditation assures:

  • The measurement of health department performance against a set of nationally recognized, practice-focused and evidenced-based standards.
  • The issuance of recognition of achievement of accreditation within a specified time frame by a nationally recognized entity.
  • The continual development, revision, and distribution of public health standards.

Accreditation provides a framework for a health department to identify performance improvement opportunities, to improve management, develop leadership, and improve relationships with the community. To date, Iowa has PHAB-accredited boards of health. Others are working toward formal accreditation and still more are using the PHAB standards and measures to guide their work to best serve the public health needs of Iowans.

Iowa’s PHAB-Accredited Health Departments

Iowa Department of Public Health (Des Moines)

Johnson County Public Health (Iowa City)

Linn County Public Health (Cedar Rapids)

Cerro Gordo County Department of Public Health (Mason City)

Scott County Health Department (Davenport)

Additional Resources

Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB)

Public Health 3.0