Iowa Public Health Association 

2018 IPHA Awards

01 Jun 2018 3:09 PM | Anonymous member

IPHA celebrated the recipients of the 2018 IPHA awards at a ceremony held at Des Moines University on 4.10.18. 

Thank you to the many IPHA members who volunteered on the IPHA Awards Selection Committee, the IPHA Awards Ceremony Committee or contributed their talents that evening.

Henry Albert Memorial Award was named in honor of the Commissioner of the IDPH from 1926-1930 and recognizes distinguished leadership in public health in Iowa.

2018 Recipient:  Shirley Stephen

Nominator:  Karen Crimmings

Richard Remington Award recognizes an individual, a team of individuals, or a community/business that has excelled in the advancement of public health.  Eligibility requires excellence in advancing new or existing public health promotion/prevention initiatives or a long-term educational dedication to public health. 

2018 Recipient:  Siouxland District Health Department (Michelle Lewis, Angela Drent, Becky Carlson, Leann Orr)

Nominator:  Kevin Grieme

Go the Distance recognizes a public health official who has gone above and beyond the usual employment requirements or the call of duty over the previous year. Individuals demonstrate critical thinking, disciplined work, and stellar public health accomplishments.  The award is presented to public health officials who have made a remarkable public health contribution and have exceeded expectations of their normal professional work duties.

2018 Recipient:  Rachel Stolz

Nominator:  Maria Sieck

Thelma Luther Award recognizes a local public health nurse who has made outstanding contributions in the field.  Eligibility requires employment in a public health nursing agency, in Iowa, for at least five years, providing direct patient care. The individual nominated may be leadership in an outstanding project or accomplishment or for a culmination of a career of outstanding service. This award was named to honor Thelma Luther, the Director of Public Health Nursing in the 1960s and 1970s.

2018 Recipient:  Mona Scaletta

Nominator: Kevin Grieme


Lilian Wald Award recognizes a nurse who has provided exemplary public health nursing practice on behalf of the public in the state of Iowa.  The individual nominated must have demonstrated initiative and resourcefulness in developing efforts to improve the health of the public through political, legislative, professional or interdisciplinary activism. 

2018 Recipient:  Melissa Walker

Nominator: Sharon Guthrie

Harry Grant Award is intended to be awarded only to individuals who exemplified superior life time performance in environmental health. It is not to be given out each year but only on infrequent

occasion awarded to those who deserve such and who went well above and beyond their normal job duties to give service to the public and fellow professionals.

2018 Recipient:  Dennis Heimdal

Nominator: Bonnie Rubin

More information on the IPHA Awards and an historical listing of honorees can be found here.

Iowa Public Health Association  - Uniting and strengthening the voice for public health in Iowa

IPHA Terms of Use and Privacy Statement  |  IPHA Website Linkage Policy

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software